Virginians! Please, Please Take a Moment to Make some Calls

Legislation We're Tracking!

Homeschool Participation in Interscholastic Sports - HB 375 - Patroned by Delegate Charles W. Carrico (R-Carroll, Grayson, Smyth, and Wythe). This bill would require the governing body of interscholastic activities for public schools to develop, implement, and enforce an exception to its rules addressing enrollment and eligibility of nonpublic school students. HEAV lobbyist Ben Lansing met with the bill's patron and provided him with research information. He also discussed HEAV's long history in appealing to the Virginia High School League and the rejection of our recent formal proposal for access.

HB 375 passed out of subcommittee with an amendment narrowing the bill to focus only on homeschoolers. Later in the week, it was opposed by the Virginia High School League in the full Committee on Education. As a result, it took an unusual turn and was returned to Delegate Fralin's subcommittee to be discussed again on Monday, January 21 at 5 p.m., in the 8th Floor West Conference Room.

As a result of this action, the Family Foundation sent out a very helpful alert to their constituents that referenced Tim Tebow, the Florida homeschooler who led his local high school football team to the state championship, and who, while playing this year for the Florida Gators, was the first sophomore ever to win the Heisman Trophy.

Now Is the Time to Act If you support legislation that would give homeschoolers the option to participate in interscholastic sports at public high schools, call or e-mail the following delegates on the subcommittee before Monday at 5 p.m. Ask them to support HB 375. You can also attend the subcommittee hearing. We expect VHSL to oppose the bill. If HB 375 fails to pass out of this subcommittee, it will be dead for the year.

Delegate William H. Fralin, Jr.

Delegate R. Steven Landes

Delegate C. Todd Gilbert

Delegate Clifford L. Athey, Jr.

Delegate Brenda L. Pogge

Delegate James P. "Jimmie" Massie, III

Delegate Adam P. Ebbin

Delegate Stephen C. Shannon

Delegate Roslyn Tyler

Delegate Joseph D. Morrissey